Durg city is one of the important district of chhattisgarh.Durg city is situated on the bank of river shivnath. In 1906 Durg was created as a separate district. The Collectorate building was built in 1907.

 After independence shri M .C. Mishra became first SP in the year 1956.On 26th janwary 1973 Ranjnandgaon became separate district after getting divided from durg. After that again on 2011 Durg district was divided to constitute balod and bemetra districts. Presently Durg district has 4 subdivisions ,22 police stations and 4 chowki.